Hotmail Security Breach – Passwords Hacked

Hotmail have suffered a security breach with thousands of hotmail passwords being hacked and posted online. Microsoft has reacted to the situation by launching a thorough investigation.

An estimated 10,000 accounts have had their passwords posted on an online blog, with the same blog indicating that the accounts had been hacked via a phishing scheme. Phishing is the attempt to extract personal details such as bank accounts, log-ins and passwords.

The passwords are believed to be posted pastebin.com, popular with the website community for sharing website source code. Although now removed it is believed that the details were accessible online for a few days.

Microsoft stated “been made aware of the claims that Windows Live IDs and passwords have been made available on the web”.

“We’re actively investigating the situation and will take appropriate steps as rapidly as possible,” a spokesperson said.

Microsoft have instructed users that feel threatened by the breach to change passwords or log-ins if they have revealed them to unknown sources in the last 7 days.

Perfect Storm will update with further information, watch this space.

    • Les Boucher
    • October 8th, 2009

    I am one of those thousands that have been hit. I can no longer access my Hotmail account as both the password and “secret password” have been changed. I have also discovered that, through this hacking, items have been placed for sale (under my name) on EBAY and I have had to have that account closed as well. According to the Police that I have spoken to, if I had not reported this I could have been held liable for any money made from the sale of goods in my name…in other words I could have been arrested for fraud.
    Trying to contact Hotmail security is a waste of time as they don’t allow contact by phone and I cant send emails with my site hijacked. It appears that their security page is also down which I think has more to do with them hiding from their customers complaints . It is no use trying to contact me through my email address as Hotmail ask ..as I stated earlier it has been hijacked.
    If MSN cant supply security that protects those who patronize them then, need to just shut down and leave email security to those companies who can.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

